June 3, 2021

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO, USA — World Lacrosse announced today the team seedings for the 2022 World Lacrosse Women’s World Championship, which will be held June 29-July 9, 2022 in Towson, Maryland, USA.

Utilizing a combination of criteria that includes the final ranking of teams following the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (now World Lacrosse) Women’s World Cup, the final placement in Continental Federation Qualifying Events for teams that did not compete in the 2017 Women’s World Cup and penalties for withdrawal from other World Lacrosse championship events, the seeding of teams is as follows:

1. United States
2. Canada
3. England
4. Australia
5. Scotland
6. Israel
7. Wales
8. New Zealand
9. Japan
10. Czech Republic
11. Italy
12. Haudenosaunee
13. Ireland
14. Germany
15. Korea
16. Netherlands
17. Latvia
18. Hong Kong
19. Switzerland
20. Mexico
21. Sweden
22. China
23. Spain
24. Uganda
25. Puerto Rico
26. Norway
27. Jamaica
28. Austria
29. Argentina
30. Colombia

The 30-team field will be the largest-ever for a senior-level Women’s World Championship conducted by World Lacrosse. The United States will be looking to win its fourth consecutive title, having downed Team Canada, 10-5, to claim the gold medal in 2017 in Guildford, England.

Media Contact: Darryl Seibel

Phone: 719-374-5546


About World Lacrosse

World Lacrosse is the international federation for men’s and women’s lacrosse, responsible for providing effective leadership and governance of the sport internationally while supporting the continued growth of lacrosse worldwide. In November 2018, World Lacrosse was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee. The President of World Lacrosse is Sue Redfern of England.