About World Lacrosse

World Lacrosse is the IOC-recognized international governing body for lacrosse, responsible for providing effective leadership and governance of the sport internationally while supporting the continued growth of lacrosse worldwide.

World Lacrosse has 86 member federations and hosts six world championships on a quadrennial basis:

  • World Lacrosse Men’s Championship
  • World Lacrosse Women’s Championship
  • World Lacrosse Men’s U20 Championship
  • World Lacrosse Women’s U20 Championship
  • World Lacrosse Box Championships (men/women)
  • World Lacrosse Sixes Championships (men/women)

World Lacrosse is governed by a board of directors and its organizational headquarters are in Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA.

In July 2021, World Lacrosse gained full recognition from the International Olympic Committee – a critical step in the sport’s continued growth around the globe and journey to becoming an Olympic sport.

In May 2019, the International Federation previously known as the Federation of International Lacrosse introduced its new name and brand identity: World Lacrosse.


Lacrosse is recognized and played by all countries worldwide and is an Olympic sport.


World Lacrosse provides governance and integrity for all forms of lacrosse, along with responsive and effective leadership to support the sport’s development throughout the world.

Core Values

Teamwork, Integrity, Passion, Friendship, Respect, Inclusiveness