LIMERICK, Ireland – The 2022 World Lacrosse Men’s U21 Championship concluded here today after 80 games in 11 days at the University of Limerick, with the United States claiming the gold medal in a thrilling, closely contested final against Canada. 

The United States powered past its northerly rival, 12-10, on a five-goal effort from tournament MVP CJ Kirst, while the Canadians stayed within three goals the entire game and clawed back to within one with just over two minutes to play. Patrick Kavanagh responded with a goal – his fourth point of the game – with 1:44 remaining to seal the victory for the United States. 

Canada garnered the silver medal for the sixth time at the event, as a pair of All-World Team members led the scoring, with Graydon Hogg tallying three goals, and Owen Hiltz adding two goals and an assist. 

The tournament featured 23 teams – the most in a World Lacrosse junior championship – and a nine-team increase from the last men’s junior championship in 2016. A total of 510 athletes competed in the event, with more than 1,250 goals scored.  

In excess of 120 hours of lacrosse were distributed to a global audience between ESPN and Lax Sports Network. Every game from the tournament was televised, a first for a junior level World Lacrosse championship. 

World Lacrosse President Sue Redfern said: “This world championship provided an excellent finish to a great summer of lacrosse. I want to thank all the athletes, coaches and staff who put so much effort into this competition; it was so exciting to see this level of play at a junior-level event. I also want to thank Ireland Lacrosse for its incredible effort to staging a record-setting event, and the University of Limerick for being such a gracious host.”  

World Lacrosse CEO Jim Scherr said: “This tournament demonstrated the incredible growth of our sport. To increase the field by nine and see so many competitive, well-played games between our junior-level teams shows how strong the commitment to lacrosse is across the world. I want to thank Ireland Lacrosse, the University of Limerick and the city of Limerick for successfully hosting this event and for welcoming the lacrosse community to Ireland. I also want to congratulate the United States on a well-earned title, which reflects its outstanding development program.” 

The United States has now won the gold medal in all nine editions of the event, dating back to 1988.  

The Haudenosaunee rounded out the trio of medalists with a 10-6 victory over Australia to claim bronze. The bronze medal is the Haudenosaunee’s fourth in the event and fourth in a row, dating back to 2008. Meanwhile, Japan stunned England to claim fifth place in 7-6 double overtime thriller, becoming the first team outside of Pool A to finish in the top five since the event expanded in 2003.  

First-time participants Puerto Rico and Jamaica also impressed with top-10 finishes.


1. United States
2. Canada
3. Haudenosaunee
4. Australia
5. Japan
6. England
7. Ireland
8. Puerto Rico
9. Jamaica
10. Israel
11. Czech Republic
12. Germany
13. Netherlands
14. Hong Kong, China
15. Sweden
16. Korea
17. China
18. Wales
19. Latvia
20. Kenya
21. Poland
22. Uganda
23. Chinese Taipei 


Most Valuable Player // CJ Kirst, United States
Most Outstanding Attacker // Ross Scott, Canada
Most Outstanding Midfielder // CJ Kirst, United States
Most Outstanding Defender // Kenny Brower, United States
Most Outstanding Goalkeeper // Liam Entenmann, United States
Graham Bundy Jr., Midfielder, United States
Owen Hiltz, Attacker, Canada 
Graydon Hogg, Midfielder, Canada
Brennan O’Neil, Attacker, United States
Levi Verch, Defender, Canada
Jake Piseno, Defender, Haudenosaunee


The President’s Team consists of the top 10 athletes outside of the Pool A teams, as selected by the awards panel 

Ronen Abramovich, Israel
Joshua Balcarcel, Puerto Rico
Dante Bowen, Jamaica
Tin Chiu Lo, China
Christian Della Rocco, Netherlands
Aaron Eastwood, Wales
Conor Foley, Ireland
Damon Hsu, China
Jonas Hunter, Sweden
Shaun Ito, Japan  



1. Christian Della Rocco, Netherlands, 25
T2. Aaron Eastwood, Wales, 24
T2. Jonas Hunter, Sweden, 24
T2. Ethan Ashley, Korea, 24
5. Conor Foley, Ireland, 23
T6. Owain Braddock, Wales, 21
T6. Luke Smith, Korea, 21
8. Dylan Hsu, China, 20
T9. Keegan Hughes, China, 19
T9. Aidan Dempsey, Ireland, 19
T9. Luke MacDonald, Netherlands, 19
T9. Owen Hiltz, Canada, 19 


1. Dylan Hsu, China, 16
2. Brock Haley, Canada, 15
T3. Oscar Mellor, Wales, 13
T3. Christian Della Rocco, Netherlands, 13
T5. Jan Śmigiel, Poland, 11
T5. Ross Scott, Canada, 11
T5. Cole Kirst, USA, 11
T8. Luke MacDonald, Netherlands, 10
T8. Luke Smith, Korea, 10
10. 9, 7 tied

Face-Off Percentage (min. 5 per game, listed as face-off wins/total face-offs) 

1. Alec Stathakis, USA, 79% (81/102)
2. Erik McCallion, Sweden, 70% (87/124)
3. Ka Chun Tong; Hong Kong, China; 68% (61/90)
4. Bo Columbus, Canada, 64% (93/146)
5. Yusuke Takeda, Japan, 64% (45/70)
6. Keegan Hughes, China, 60% (31/52)
7. Colin Baez, Puerto Rico, 59% (110/185)
8. Aidan Fearn, Haudenosaunee, 54% (70/130)
9. Owen Stephenson, Jamaica, 54% (68/126)

Save Percentage (min. 3 per game, listed as saves/shots faced)

1. Haoxuan Cui, China, 63% (77/123)
2. Liam Entenmann, USA, 61% (31/51)
3. Ryan Richters, Latvia, 61% (71/117)
4. Pak Long Chan; Hong Kong, China; 60% (24/40)
5. Joe Walsh, Ireland, 58% (62/107)
6. Theodore Kim, Korea, 58% (84/146)
7. Jack Allen, England, 57% (51/89)
8. Will Macdonald, Wales, 55% (50/91)
9. Jaden Algarin, Puerto Rico, 55% (72/131)
10. Jack VanValkenburgh, Haudenosaunee, 55% (77/140)