Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Regional Events

17 Teams Travel to Nymburk for EC2015

The European Lacrosse Federation (ELF) is very excited to host the 2015 ELF Women’s Lacrosse European Championship — the largest international competition in women’s lacrosse ever held on European soil.

17 national teams are coming to Nymburk to compete in the first ever independently held women’s lacrosse European championships, including four teams playing at EC for the first time!

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Wales will all compete in this year’s event.

A fully-European delegation of umpires and TDs will officiate the event, also a first.

The tournament will take place at Sportovní centrum Nymburk, in the Czech Republic from 6-15 August.


Action from EC2012 in Amsterdam, Netherlands

The most recent European Championships were held in August 2012 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. It was another record breaking championships with 17 men’s teams and 12 women’s teams participating. With 29 teams in total at an international tournament, the European Championships 2012 turned out to be one of the largest international lacrosse tournaments in history.

With the event growing every year, the decision has been made to split the men’s and the women’s events in order to make it manageable for National associations to bid to be the host. Consequently, there has been a slight shift in the four-year cycle.

About the ELF

ELF logo
The European Lacrosse Federation (ELF) is the organisational body for lacrosse played in Europe including women’s and men’s lacrosse.


The ELF’s mission is as follows:

  • To develop and maintain all forms of Lacrosse throughout Europe.
  • To undertake, to support and foster the standards of play as may be laid down, from time to time, by all recognised International and / or National Lacrosse Associations.
  • To provide means of communication between all European Lacrosse playing and developing Associations.
  • To provide, wherever possible, assistance to the forming of any new Lacrosse Association.
  • To foster goodwill and fellowship through Lacrosse in Europe.

About the FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently has 52 member nations and holds five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor.) The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

You May Also Like

Olympic Vision

World Lacrosse’s decades-long vision to return the sport to the Olympic stage has been realized, with the International Olympic Committee approving lacrosse’s inclusion in...


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, USA – World Lacrosse today announced the 87-game schedule for the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship set to take place in...


ESPN will serve as the exclusive television partner of the upcoming 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego,...


The 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital concluded here at Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego with the United States defending...