April 16, 2020 

A record 30 nations are confirmed to compete for the 2021 World Lacrosse Women’s World Championship from July 7-17, 2021 at Towson (Md.) University in the United States. US Lacrosse will host the quadrennial championship for the first time since 2005.

The 30 teams earned their bids based on their placement at the 2017 World Lacrosse championship or their performances in their respective Continental Federation qualifiers.

The 11-day event is expected to bring tens of thousands of visitors to the region. In addition to the World Lacrosse championship event, the World Festival Tournament will provide options for youth, high school and adult teams to experience the international flavor of the event. The World Festival Tournament will be held at Goucher College, located in close proximity to Towson University.

“We’re very much looking forward to welcoming the participants and guests from around the world to the United States and providing them an experience they’ll remember for the rest of their lives,” said Kim Rogers, Director of Special Events for US Lacrosse. “The sport continues to thrive, and we’re thrilled to showcase the tremendous talent that women’s lacrosse has to offer.”

“With 30 National Teams confirming their participation, we have reached yet another important, and exciting milestone for the sport of lacrosse globally,” said Fiona Clark, World Lacrosse Board of Directors Member and Competition Director.  “The growth of this World Championship is a reflection of how competition opportunities for lacrosse continue to expand around the world, and that is due to the outstanding work of our member-National Governing Bodies and Continental Federations.  Not only will this be the largest Women’s World Championship ever staged by World Lacrosse, the overall depth and quality of play, across all 30 teams, will undoubtedly set a new standard for excellence.”

The United States has won the last three world championships, beating Canada 10-5 in Guildford, England in the 2017 gold medal game. England beat Australia 10-9 in four overtimes to claim the bronze medal, its first medal since 2005.

A then-record 25 teams competed in the 2017 world championship. By comparison, just 10 teams competed when US Lacrosse hosted the 2005 championship in Annapolis, Md. The first women’s world championship was held in 1982 and this will be the 11thtime the event has been held.

This year’s field includes five teams that will be participating in the women’s world championship for the first time — Argentina, Jamaica, Norway, Puerto Rico and Uganda.

Listed below are the teams expected to attend the 2021 World Championship and their history in the event.

Argentina: First appearance
Australia: 11thappearance – Best finish (1stin 1986 and 2005) – nine medals
Austria: 3rdappearance – Best finish (13thin 2013)
Canada: 11thappearance – Best finish (2ndin 2013 and 2017) – four medals
China: 2ndappearance – Best finish (22ndin 2017)
Colombia: 2ndappearance – Best finish (24thin 2017)
Czech Republic: 5thappearance – Best finish (8thin 1993 and 2005)
England: 11thappearance – Best finish (2ndin 1989 and 1993) – six medals
Germany: 6thappearance – Best finish (8thin 2001)
Haudenosaunee: 4thappearance – Best finish (7thin 2013)
Hong Kong: 3rdappearance – Best finish (18thin 2013 and 2017)
Ireland: 4thappearance – Best finish (5thin 2009)
Israel: 3rdappearance – Best finish (6thin 2017)
Italy: 2ndappearance – Best finish (11thin 2017)
Jamaica: First appearance
Japan: 8thappearance – Best finish (5thin 2005)
Korea: 4thappearance – Best finish (15thin 2013 and 2017)
Latvia: 3rdappearance – Best finish (17thin 2013 and 2017)
Mexico: 2ndappearance – Best finish (20thin 2017)
Netherlands: 4thappearance – Best finish (13thin 2009)
New Zealand: 5thappearance – Best finish (8thin 2017)
Norway: First appearance
Puerto Rico: First appearance
Scotland: 11thappearance – Best finish (3rdin 1986) – one medal
Spain: 2ndappearance – Best finish (23rdin 2017)
Sweden: 3rdappearance – Best finish (19thin 2013)
Switzerland: 2ndappearance – Best finish (19thin 2017)
Uganda: 1stappearance
United States: 11thappearance – Best finish (1stin 1982, 1989, 1993, 1997, 2001, 2009, 2013 and 2017) – 10 medals
Wales: 11thappearance – Best finish (4thin 1997)

Registration for the World Lacrosse Festival will launch this summer and ticket sales for the championship will open in the fall.

For more information, please visit the event web page:

About World Lacrosse

World Lacrosse is the international federation for men’s and women’s lacrosse, responsible for providing effective leadership and governance of the sport internationally while supporting the continued growth of lacrosse worldwide. In November 2018, World Lacrosse was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee. The President of World Lacrosse is Sue Redfern of England.