COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, USA – World Lacrosse today announced the opening of the nomination process for two positions on its Athletes’ Commission. The AC election will take place June 21-26 during pool play of the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship in San Diego, California, USA.  

The 2023 election will be the second for the AC; initial members were appointed following the commission’s establishment in 2018, with the first election having taken place last year alongside the women’s championship.  

Active or recently retired athletes who have represented their country in international men’s competition are eligible for the two positions to replace outgoing members Keith Nyberg (AUS) and Rob Pannell (USA), whose terms end this year.  

Jane Lee, World Lacrosse Athletes’ Commission chair, said: “As two of the first members of the World Lacrosse Athletes’ Commission, Keith and Rob have contributed significantly to all aspects of the game, representing elite athletes globally with immense commitment and dedication. I would like to thank each of them for their continued support and for all that they have done for our sport.”  

The six-member, gender-balanced WL Athletes’ Commission is intended to provide representation at the highest levels of governance in lacrosse. This year’s election at the men’s championship will give the nearly 700 participating athletes the opportunity to democratically elect candidates to the Athletes’ Commission.  

Information on the nomination and election process can be found here. All nominations must be received no later than April 21 to  


Jane Lee, Chair (KOR)
Sean Gibson, Vice Chair (IRE)
Maribel Gallegos (MEX)
Tessa Helf (GER)
Keith Nyberg (AUS)
Rob Pannell (USA)