Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Press Releases

Historic World Lacrosse Women’s Championship concludes after 11 days

The 2022 World Lacrosse Women’s Championship concluded on Saturday after 110 games in 11 days at Towson University, with the United States claiming the gold medal.

TOWSON, Maryland, USA – The 2022 World Lacrosse Women’s Championship concluded on Saturday after 110 games in 11 days at Towson University, with the United States claiming the gold medal.

The tournament featured 29 teams – the most in a women’s world championship – and more than 500 athletes, with nearly 40,000 tickets sold and 2,034 goals scored.

Almost 200 hours of lacrosse were broadcast by ESPN on its networks at the first women’s world championship with linear television distribution in the United States.

World Lacrosse CEO Jim Scherr said: “This championship was a resounding success, as it featured our incredible game at its highest level on a global stage. I want to thank USA Lacrosse and Towson University for being phenomenal hosts and organizers; it was a great accomplishment to host our largest-ever women’s tournament seamlessly. I am thankful for all the athletes, coaches and staff members who put so much time and effort into the competition, and the product on the field was as compelling as it ever has been. I also want to congratulate the United States for a historic title and for setting the bar of excellence extremely high.”

USA Lacrosse CEO Marc Riccio said: “The World Lacrosse Women’s Championship was an impactful demonstration of the power of lacrosse and sport to bring people together and change lives. USA Lacrosse was honored to work with World Lacrosse to help make this a reality.”

The United States won its ninth overall women’s championship and fourth in a row. The USA became the first team to win a women’s championship on home soil.

The USA’s Taylor Cummings – the tournament MVP – headlined the All-World team. Joining her from the U.S. team were Marie McCool, Alice Mercer and Kayla Treanor.

Silver medalist Canada had three players named to the team: Aurora Cordingley, Dana Dobbie and Kaylin Morrissette. Dobbie has now earned a place on four All-World teams dating back to 2009.

Bronze medalist England had two players named to the All-World team: Olivia Hompe and Brittany Read. Hompe scored the game-winning goal in the third overtime to secure the bronze medal for her team.

Australia’s Hannah Nielsen rounded out the All-World team. She was one of four repeat selections from 2017, joining Cummings, Dobbie and Treanor.

Japan; the Czech Republic; Mexico and Hong Kong, China all recorded their best-ever finishes at the championship and the United States, Canada and Israel all tied their best finishes. The Haudenosaunee improved four spots from 2017, and Puerto Rico had the best finish of all the first-time participants in 11th place.

The individual leaderboards at the championship for goals, assists, saves and draw controls featured some of the brightest stars in Towson from teams across the standings.

MVP: Taylor Cummings

All-World Team

Aurora Cordingley, Canada
Taylor Cummings, USA
Dana Dobbie, Canada
Oliva Hompe, England
Marie McCool, USA
Alice Mercer, USA
Kaylin Morrissette, Canada
Hannah Nielsen, Australia
Brittany Read, England
Kayla Treanor, USA

Final Standings

1. United States
2. Canada
3. England
4. Australia
5. Japan
6. Israel
7. Czech Republic
8. Haudenosaunee
9. Wales
10. Scotland
11. Puerto Rico
12. New Zealand
13. Ireland
14. Germany
15. Mexico
16. Hong Kong, China
17. Netherlands
18. Italy
19. China
20. Latvia
21. Korea
22. Norway
23. Sweden
24. Spain
25. Austria
26. Argentina
27. Switzerland
28. Jamaica
29. Colombia


1. Isabelle Martire, Czech Republic, 40
T2. Isabel Szejk, Mexico, 26
T2. Megan Whittle, England, 26
T2. Katrina Dowd, Ireland, 26
5. Esprit Cha, Korea, 25
T6. Erica Evans, Canada, 24
T6. Colleen Owen, Italy, 24
T6. Stephanie Colson, Italy, 24
9. Miya Scanlan, Haudenosaunee, 23
10. Charlotte North, USA, 23


1. Margaret Egan, Ireland, 25
2. Tierney Larson, Czech Republic, 19
3. Jalyn Jimerson, Haudenosaunee, 15
T4. Lindsey McKone, Israel, 14
T4. Kayla Treanor, USA, 14
T4. Sam Apuzzo, USA, 14
T4. Taylor Frink, Haudenosaunee, 14
T4. Stephanie Colson, Italy, 24
9. Anna Lottmann, Czech Republic, 13
T10.Shannon Brazier, China, 12
T10. Aurora Cordingley, Canada, 12

Draw Controls

1. Kaylin Morrissette, Canada 58
2. Shannon Brazier, China, 54
3. Stephanie Colson, Italy, 48
4. Skylar Carrasquillo, Puerto Rico, 39
5. Ally Mastroianni, USA, 38
7. Miya Scanlan, Haudenosaunee, 37
7. Katrina Dowd, Ireland, 36
T8. Lindsey McKone, Ireland, 35
T8. Ashleigh Rothe, Mexico, 35
10. Daniela Eppler Lobato, Mexico, 34


1. Lyndsey Munoz, Spain, 67
T2. Vivian Owens, Colombia, 61
T2. Emily Gaven, Ireland, 61
4. Amanda Eriksson, Sweden, 60
5. Bianca Blei, Austria, 58
6. Kine Ødegård, Norway, 57
7. Paige Crandall, Haudenosaunee, 52
8. Anna-Luisa Moser, Switzerland, 49
9. Anna Ničová, Czech Republic, 47
10. Shannen Graham, Jamaica, 45

You May Also Like

Olympic Vision

World Lacrosse’s decades-long vision to return the sport to the Olympic stage has been realized, with the International Olympic Committee approving lacrosse’s inclusion in...


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, USA – World Lacrosse today announced the 87-game schedule for the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship set to take place in...


ESPN will serve as the exclusive television partner of the upcoming 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego,...


The 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital concluded here at Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego with the United States defending...