Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Box History and Results

World Indoor Lacrosse Championship

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (September 27, 2015) Canada’s world dominance in box lacrosse continued with 12-8 victory over the Iroquois, earning Canada its fourth consecutive world indoor championship and stretching its all-time record to 23-0 in WILC play. © Coyote Magic Action Shots

The inaugural event was held in Hamilton, Kitchener, Mississauga, and Oshawa, Ontario, Canada in May 2003. National teams from Australia, Canada, the Czech Republic, the Iroquois Nation, Scotland and the United States participated. Canada won gold defeating the Iroquois Nation in the final by a score of 21-4. The United States took the bronze.

The most recent WILC was held at the birthplace of lacrosse on the Onondaga Nation’s native grounds in Syracuse, N.Y. Thirteen teams competed in the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championship, including six new nations (Finland, Germany, Israel, Serbia, Switzerland, and Turkey). The medal results were the same as the previous three championships with Canada earning the gold, the Iroquois taking the silver and the U.S. winning the bronze. Surprising newcomer, Israel, finished in 4th. The remaining order of finish was England 5th, Ireland 6th, Czech Republic 7th, Australia 8th, Finland 9th, Turkey 10th, Germany 11th, Serbia 12th, and Switzerland 13th. Canada’s dominance in box lacrosse continued as it remained undefeated in WILC play at 23-0.

The 2019 WILC will be played in Langley, British Columbia, Canada.

2015CanadaIroquois12-8Onondaga Nation
Syracuse, NY USA
2011CanadaIroquois13-6Prague, CZE
2007CanadaIroquois15-14 (OT)Halifax, NS CAN
* The inaugural WILC event was held in Hamilton, Kitchener, Mississauga and Oshawa, Ontario.


Click on image to open in lightbox.