Men’s Lacrosse History & Results

Men’s World Championship

US beats Canada with a last second shot to win 9-8 for its tenth all-time gold medal at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship in Netanya, Israel.

The initial World Championship was a four-team invitational tournament that coincided with Canada’s centennial lacrosse celebration in 1967. The Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the United States and won the tournament. Seven years later, Australia celebrated its lacrosse centennial, and the U.S. fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament with Canada and England again. It was here that the concept of holding a world championship tournament every four years was born and the International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) formed.

In 2008 the ILF merged with the International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL)—the present governing body for both men’s and women’s world championship lacrosse.

The U.S. captured its tenth World Lacrosse Championship at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship hosted in Netanya, Israel, beating Canada in the last seconds of the game, 9-8. Canada has captured three championships throughout the history of the event with it’s most recent championship coming in a stunning 8-5 upset of the US at the 2014 World Lacrosse Championship in Denver, Colorado.

US will defend its championship at the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s World Championship in Los Angeles, California, United States.

2018 USA Canada 9-8 Netanya, Israel
2014 Canada USA 8-5 Denver, Colo., USA
2010 USA Canada 12-10 Manchester, England
2006 Canada USA 15-10 London, Ont., Canada
2002 USA Canada 18-15 Perth, Australia
1998 USA Canada 15-14 (OT) Baltimore, Md., USA
1994 USA Australia 19-15 Manchester, England
1990 USA Canada 19-15 Perth, Australia
1986 USA Canada 18-9 Toronto, Ont., Canada
1982 USA Australia 22-14 Baltimore, Md. USA
1978 Canada USA 17-16(OT) Stockport, England
1974 USA 3-Way Tie 24-14 Melbourne, Australia
1967* USA Australia 25-11 Toronto, Ont., Canada
* The 1967 team was the Mt. Washington Lacrosse Club from Baltimore, Md.


Men’s U19 World Championship

   © 2016 WL – Team USA’s 2016 U-19 squad comes back from a 6-0 first quarter deficit to win an eighth straight championship, downing Canada 13-12 in Coquitlam, BC. Photo: Paul Yates

A record-high 14 teams competed in the WL U19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championship in Coquitlam, B.C., Canada from July 7th through July 16th, 2016.

The Blue Division teams, comprised of the top five finishers from the 2012 U19 Men’s Worlds, included Canada, the United States, the Iroquois Nationals, Australia and England. Red Division teams were made up of Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Germany and Mexico, and the Green Division included entries from China, Ireland, Scotland and Korea. The 2016 world tournament saw debuts at the U19 level for six of the teams: Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, China and Ireland.

The USA came back from a 6-0 deficit to defeat Canada 13-12 on Saturday, July 16th in front of a standing-room only crowd.

Ryan Conrad scored with eight seconds remaining coming off a screen and burying the ball, capping off an unbelievable comeback for the Americans who trailed 8-2 at the half, giving the Americans their eighth title on the U-19 world stage.

The USA is the only country to have won the gold medal in FIL’s U19 Men’s event, winning in 1988, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2008, 2012 and 2016.

The next age-group World Championship will be a U20 event and will take place July 2021 in Limerick, Ireland (

2016 USA Canada 13-12 Coquitlam B.C., Canada
2012 USA Canada 10-8 Turku, Finland
2008 USA Canada 19-12 Coquitlam B.C., Canada
2003 USA Canada 19-10 Baltimore, Md., USA
1999 USA Canada 14-7 Adelaide, Australia
1996 USA Australia 13-8 Tokyo, Japan
1992 USA Australia 24-11 Long Island, N.Y., USA
1988 USA Canada 12-5 Adelaide, Australia