Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


World Lacrosse announces fields for 2024 Box Championship in New York 

World Lacrosse today announced the fields for the 2024 Box Championship scheduled for September Fri 20 – Sun 29 in Utica, New York, United States, featuring 28 teams in the men’s box championship and 10 teams in the first women’s box championship.

The women’s field is made up of 10 teams from three Continental Federations: 

  1. Australia 
  2. Canada 
  3. England 
  4. Finland 
  5. Germany 
  6. Haudenosaunee 
  7. Hong Kong, China 
  8. Ireland 
  9. Netherlands 
  10. United States 

The field for the sixth edition of the men’s box championship features 28 teams from three CFs, with 11 teams competing for the first time:

  1. Australia 
  2. Austria 
  3. Belgium* 
  4. Canada 
  5. China* 
  6. Czech Republic 
  7. England 
  8. Finland 
  9. Germany 
  10. Greece* 
  11. Haudenosaunee 
  12. Hong Kong, China 
  13. Hungary* 
  14. Ireland 
  15. Israel 
  16. Italy* 
  17. Jamaica* 
  18. Japan* 
  19. Mexico 
  20. Netherlands 
  21. Poland* 
  22. Puerto Rico* 
  23. Scotland 
  24. Slovakia 
  25. Switzerland 
  26. Chinese Taipei* 
  27. United States 
  28. U.S. Virgin Islands* 

*First-time competitor in the men’s box championship

World Lacrosse CEO Jim Scherr said: “We are thrilled about the teams competing in our 2024 Box Championship on many accounts. The historic first edition of our women’s box championship is a landmark moment for our sport, and I am excited to see the strong 10-team field introduce our global fanbase to the strength of the women’s box community.” 

“I believe the field in the men’s box championship is as deep and competitive as ever, while also welcoming many first-time participants to the event. I am looking forward to watching the elite and emerging talent compete in New York as we celebrate the global popularity of box lacrosse.” 

The men’s field is highlighted by medalists Canada, the Haudenosaunee and the United States, which have claimed top-three finishes in each edition of the event. The top-10 finishers from the 2019 Men’s Box Championship in Langley, Canada, all return, rounded out by England, Israel, Finland, Czech Republic, Netherlands, Australia and Germany. 

Of the 11 first-time participants in the men’s box championship, three come from the Asia Pacific Lacrosse Union in China, Japan and Chinese Taipei, and two come from the Pan-American Lacrosse Association in Jamaica and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 

The format, pools and schedule for both competitions will be announced in early 2024, as well as ticketing plans. All information on the box championships can be found at

You May Also Like

Olympic Vision

World Lacrosse’s decades-long vision to return the sport to the Olympic stage has been realized, with the International Olympic Committee approving lacrosse’s inclusion in...


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, USA – World Lacrosse today announced the 87-game schedule for the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship set to take place in...


ESPN will serve as the exclusive television partner of the upcoming 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego,...


The 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital concluded here at Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego with the United States defending...