December 21, 2020

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO, USA — Official invitations have been extended by World Lacrosse to the eight teams that have been selected to compete in women’s lacrosse at The World Games 2022 in Birmingham, Alabama, USA (TWG 2022). The selected teams are (in alphabetical order):



Czech Republic

Great Britain




United States

At its December 10 meeting, the World Lacrosse Board of Directors unanimously approved the proposed selection criteria for women’s lacrosse in TWG 2022, after which the criteria was submitted and approved by the International World Games Association. World Lacrosse used the following criteria in determining selection:

  • The top five eligible teams from the final standings of the 2017 Federation of International Lacrosse (now World Lacrosse) Women’s World Championship: United States, Canada, Great Britain, Australia, Israel
  • Top finisher, not already selected, from the 2019 European Lacrosse Federation Continental Qualifier (for 2021 World Championship): Czech Republic
  • Top finisher, not already selected, from the 2019 Pan-American Lacrosse Association Continental Qualifier (for 2021 World Championship): Haudenosaunee
  • Top finisher, not already selected, from the 2019 Asia-Pacific Lacrosse Union Continental Qualifier (for 2021 World Championship): Japan

TWG 2022 will mark the second time women’s lacrosse is on the program for The World Games, having made its debut in 2017 in Wroclaw, Poland. The United States defeated Canada to claim the gold medal in 2017.

The women’s lacrosse competition at TWG 2022 will take place July 12-16, 2022 and will feature the new World Lacrosse 6 v 6 discipline.

Media Contact: Darryl Seibel

Phone: 719-374-5546


About World Lacrosse

World Lacrosse is the international federation for men’s and women’s lacrosse, responsible for providing effective leadership and governance of the sport internationally while supporting the continued growth of lacrosse worldwide. In November 2018, World Lacrosse was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee. The President of World Lacrosse is Sue Redfern of England.