Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


2018 FIL Men’s World Championship Features Largest Field in Israel: Canada to Defend World Gold Medal


COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADOCanada, who claimed its third World Championship in 2014 in Denver, Colorado, looks to return to the top of the podium at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship in Netanya, Israel, July 11-21. Canada will be tested during the 10-day event by 45 other competing teams. The majority of the competition will be held at the Wingate National Sport Institution, Israel’s National Center for Physical Education and Sport. Netanya Stadium will host the Opening and Closing Ceremonies and gold-medal game on July 21.

The 12thFIL Men’s World Championship is divided into 15 pools, with the Blue Division featuring the top six placing teams from the 2014 World Championship, and the remaining 14 pools include three teams each. Canada will see tough competition, especially from the United States, winner of nine gold medals and three silver medals. Canada was led in 2014 by Kevin Crowley’s five goals in Denver, and a strong ball-control game for its third world title, winning 8-5. The Blue Division will have five pool play games, with the top four teams advancing to the championship round, with the top two receiving byes to the semifinals.

Also competing in the Blue Division is a strong line-up from the Iroquois Nation who claimed the bronze medal in 2014, its first medal in the Men’s World Championship. On July 12, the first key match-up will happen between the United States and the Iroquois Nation, with potential implications for placement on July 21.

Australia will look to rebound after a fourth-place finish in 2014. Australia has been a perennial powerhouse, having claimed medals in nine of the 11 last World Championships. England and Scotland round out the Blue Division.

Host country Israel will start against Jamaica on July 12 at 4:30 p.m. (local time) in Netanya Stadium. Israel, a member of FIL for the last seven years and hosting for the first time, has been active in increasing participation for the sport through public appearances at schools and sporting events. Coming off a seventh-place finish in 2014, Israel has been active in the last year with a strong preparation schedule against top countries and clubs. Russia is making its second appearance at the 2018 World Championship.

Hong Kong and Luxembourg will open the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship on July 11. This is Luxembourg’s first World Championship appearance. Both teams will be competing in the Olive Division.

Teams will compete in a total of six to eight games each during the 10-day event, with all teams playing to a final placement. A total of 170 games will be played before crowing the next World Champion. 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship schedule.

The event’s Opening Ceremonies, slated for July 12 at 6:30 p.m. (local time) will feature performances from Israeli artists and a procession of all 46 teams and nearly 2,000 athletes in the Netanya Stadium. Tickets for the opening ceremonies and games can be purchased at

The majority of the World Championship will be held at Wingate National Sport Institution’s six competition fields. With the limited capacity, the venue will provide an electric atmosphere for the World Championship, with sell-out crowds anticipated.

ESPN and ESPN+ will broadcast the games in the United States from start to finish with 10 days of play on ESPN2 and ESPNU for 14 games, and more than 160 games available on the ESPN+, the first-ever multi-sport, direct-to-consumer subscription streaming service. The FIL Men’s World Championship will also be available in Canada on CSN and locally in Israel on Sport 5. Fans will be able to watch the games in 46 countries.

The FIL Men’s World Championship started in 1967 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, where the United States defeated Australia for its first of nine World Championship gold medals. In 1974, the second World Championship was held in Melbourne, Australia, with the United States claiming the title. Since then, the event has been held every four years.

2018 FIL Men’s World Championship
Netanya, Israel, July 11-21
Wingate National Sport Institute and Netanya Stadium


Blue Division
United States
Iroquois Nation

Red Division

White Division

Green Division

Yellow Division

Orange Division

Plum Division
New Zealand

Turquoise Division

Grey Division
Czech Republic

Gold Division

Platinum Division

Bronze Division
Puerto Rico

Tan Division

Purple Division

Olive Division
Hong Kong

FIL Men’s World Championship History

Year – Teams (gold def. silver), Score, Location
2014 – Canada def. USA, 8-5, Denver, Colorado, USA
2010 – USA def. Canada, 12-10, Manchester, England
2006 – Canada def. USA, 15-10, London, Ontario, Canada
2002 – USA def. Canada, 18-15, Perth, Australia
1998 – USA def. Canada, 15-14 (OT), Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1994 – USA def. Australia, 21-7, Manchester, England
1990 – USA def. Canada, 19-15, Perth, Australia
1986 – USA def. Canada, 18-9, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1982 – USA def. Australia, 22-14, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1978 – Canada def. USA, 17-16 (OT), Stockport, England
1974 – USA, Three-way tie for 2nd, Melbourne, Australia
1967 – USA def. Australia, 25-11, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

You May Also Like

2023 Men's Championship

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, USA – World Lacrosse today announced the 87-game schedule for the 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship set to take place in...

2023 Men's Championship

ESPN will serve as the exclusive television partner of the upcoming 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital in San Diego,...

2023 Men's Championship

The 2023 World Lacrosse Men’s Championship presented by Rady Children’s Hospital concluded here at Snapdragon Stadium in San Diego with the United States defending...

2023 Men's Championship

World Lacrosse announced the awarding of its 2023 Men’s World Championship to the city of San Diego. The first world championship in the sport...