Women’s History & Results

2019 World Lacrosse Women’s U19 World Championship

Americans Reclaim World Lacrosse Women’s U19 World Championship Title

Using the stifling defense it has deployed the entire tournament, the United States of America defeated Canada 13 to 3 to win the 2019 World Lacrosse Women’s U19 World Championship at Trent University in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, Saturday.

Playing in front of a sold-out crowd, the home field failed to favor Canada, which couldn’t seem to crack the American’s pressing defense. The U.S. used a balance offensive attack with spread out scoring. Sensational goals by Caitlyn Wurzbuger and Isabelle Smith late in the game punctuated the balanced American performance the entire tournament.

“I think it’s the most amazing feeling that we could’ve asked for, and been able to bring back to our country,” said Leah Holmes of Team USA. “We feel so proud to wear the red, white and blue, and to be able to go out and represent our country and wear our country’s colours. To go out and redeem ourselves from four years ago, and bring the gold back to the US is so special.”

The Americans were never challenged all tournament, displaying both an offensive and defensive punch that no team could match. U.S. Head Coach Kelly Amonte Hiller said she wanted the ‘best challenge’ in the finale knowing her team was going to be ‘hungry’.  She added that the U.S. would have to play at their best to beat the Canadians for a second time.

The two teams had a combined to outscore opponents 115-17 throughout the tournament.

The Canadians had entered the game hoping to avenge an earlier loss to the Americans in Pool Play. But, in the gold medal game, the U.S. had other plans and jumped out to an early lead and never looked back.

Imposing attacker Maddie Jenner and Wurzbuger of the U.S. seemed to keep Canada on their heels most of the game. Goalies Madison Doucette and Rachell Hall continued to play great in the net. Kylea Dobson and Eve Hritzuk led Canada as they had throughout the week. Both were named to the All-Tournament team.

The U.S. team placed five members on the 10-women All-Tournament team: Jenner, Wurzbuger, Hall, Izzy Scane, and Brianne Gross.

The U.S. team was made up three high school and the rest college players, many of whom will face each other during the upcoming NCAA season.

“Well most of us are going back to college, except for three of us, including myself who are going back to high school,” said Holmes, one of the youngest players on the team.  “Most of these girls are going to be competing against each other and with each other in college. Obviously, the friendships will never be forgotten, but we still have our other teams that we have to get back to.” Hiller summed up her team’s performance: “I’m just really proud of the team. I think we worked pretty hard this week, all throughout the week, on our defense. I feel pretty good about the way we played.”

Mohamed Yusuf and Liam Cunningham reporting


  • With 22 teams, this was the largest field ever for a World Lacrosse U19 World Championship — women’s or men’s.
  • There were nine teams/countries competing in the World Lacrosse Women’s U19 World Championship for the very first time.
  • Team Israel surprised Team Kenya by providing the African squad with new cleats after one of the tournament’s game. The goodwill gesture trended on Twitter on Thursday.


2019 World Lacrosse Women’s U19 World Championship

Peterborough, Ontario, Canada, August 1-10

Trent University & Fleming College


Ireland 7 def. Chinese Taipei 5 (19th place)

Israel 11 def. Kenya 10 9:00 (17th place)

Japan 12 def. New Zealand 7 (5th place)

Australia 13 def. England 8 (Bronze Medal)

U.S.A. 13 def. Canada 3 (Gold Medal)

Women’s World Cup


22 July 2017 – The United States withstood its toughest test of the tournament, defeating Canada 10-5 in the gold medal game of the FIL Rathbones Women’s World Cup on a rainy Saturday afternoon at Surrey Sports Park in Guildford, England. The U.S. improved to 60-6-1 all-time in World Cup competition and clinched its eighth World Cup title. Photo by Aby Kerry.

The International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) was formed in 1972 to promote and develop the game of women’s lacrosse throughout the world. Inaugural members were Australia, England, Scotland, Wales and the United States. The number of member countries has grown rapidly as lacrosse popularity has spread.

The IFWLA World Cup started in 1982 as an international lacrosse tournament that is held every four years, except in 1989 when it had only been three years since the 1986 IFWLA World Championship. The first World Cup was hosted in Nottingham, England. The United States team has won every World Cup except 1986 and 2005 where it finished second behind Australia.

In 2008 the IFWLA merged with their men’s lacrosse counterpart, the International Lacrosse Federation (ILF), to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL), which in 2019 changed its name to World Lacrosse – the recognized governing body for international lacrosse championships.

In the latest event, Team USA made it three straight gold medals and eight overall when it defeated Canada 10-5 at the 2017 FIL Rathbones Women’s Lacrosse World Cup in Guildford, England.

The 2021 World Lacrosse Women’s World Championship will be held in Towson, Maryland, United States at Towson University.

2017 USA Canada 10-5 Guildford, England
2013 USA Canada 19-5 Oshawa, Ont., Canada
2009 USA Australia 8-7 Prague, Czech Republic
2005 Australia USA 14-7 Annapolis, Md., USA
2001 USA Australia 14-8 High Wycombe, England
1997 USA Australia 3-2 SV OT¹ Edogawa, Japan
1993 USA England 4-1 Edinburgh, Scotland
1989 USA England 6-5 SV OT¹ Perth, Australia
1986 Australia USA 10-7 Philadelphia, Pa., USA
1982 USA Australia 10-7 ET² Nottingham, England
¹ Sudden victory overtime (first goal scored in overtime is the game winner).
² In 1982, the first ever International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) championship took place in England with the USA defeating Australia in extra time (three additional minutes each way/straight change of ends. If after extra time the score is still tied, then three-minute halves are played on sudden victory basis [fist goal wins]).



Women’s U19 World Championship

© 2015 FIL – Canada (7-1) held off the United States, 9-8, to win its first FIL U19 Women’s World Lacrosse Championship gold medal. The USA (7-1) earned its second silver medal after winning four straight golds in 1999, 2003, ’07 and ’11. Photo by David May via DEphoto.

The International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) held its first U-19 World Championship in 1995. Australia defeated the United States 5-4 in Haverford, Pennsylvania.

The U.S. then beat Australia in four straight finals since then. In 1999, the U.S. defeated the Aussies 15-8 on their home turf in Perth. They doubled-up on Australia in 2003, this time winning the championship 21-8 in Baltimore, Maryland. The U.S. women made it three straight golds in 2007 by defeating Australia 18-3 in Peterborough, Canada. The U.S. won its fourth gold in a row in 2011 in Hannover, Germany edging their Aussie rivals 14-12.