Men’s Lacrosse

/Men’s Lacrosse
Men’s Lacrosse 2020-02-24T16:47:37+00:00

Men’s Lacrosse News

Pan-American Lacrosse Association Announces Host Nation and Location for the 2020 PALA World Lacrosse Men’s Qualifier

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 3, 2020  AUBURNDALE, FLORIDA, USA — The Pan-American Lacrosse Association (PALA) is pleased to announce the Colombia Lacrosse Association will host the 2020 PALA World Lacrosse Men's Qualifier in Medellin, [...]

By | March 3rd, 2020|Categories: Men, Regional Events, World Lacrosse|Comments Off on Pan-American Lacrosse Association Announces Host Nation and Location for the 2020 PALA World Lacrosse Men’s Qualifier

World Lacrosse Announces Officiating Team For 2020 World Lacrosse Men’s U19 World Championship

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEJanuary 29, 2020 COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO, USA — World Lacrosse announced today the Administrative Team, Officials and Officiating Coaches for the 2020 World Lacrosse Men’s U19 World Championship, July 9-18 at the University of [...]

By | January 28th, 2020|Categories: Men, Officiating, U19 Men, World Lacrosse|Comments Off on World Lacrosse Announces Officiating Team For 2020 World Lacrosse Men’s U19 World Championship
Load More Posts

Featured Videos

loading videos
Loading Videos...

Men’s History and Results

Men’s World Championship

US beats Canada with a last second shot to win 9-8 for its tenth all-time gold medal at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship in Netanya, Israel.

The initial World Championship was a four-team invitational tournament that coincided with Canada’s centennial lacrosse celebration in 1967. The Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the United States and won the tournament. Seven years later, Australia celebrated its lacrosse centennial, and the U.S. fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament with Canada and England again. It was here that the concept of holding a world championship tournament every four years was born and the International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) formed.

In 2008 the ILF merged with the International Federation of Women’s Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL)—the present governing body for both men’s and women’s world championship lacrosse.

The U.S. captured its tenth World Lacrosse Championship at the 2018 FIL Men’s World Championship hosted in Netanya, Israel, beating Canada in the last seconds of the game, 9-8. Canada has captured three championships throughout the history of the event with it’s most recent championship coming in a stunning 8-5 upset of the US at the 2014 World Lacrosse Championship in Denver, Colorado.

US will defend it’s championship at the 2022 World Lacrosse Men’s World Championship at a TBA location, July 2022.

Men's World Championship Results
Year Champion Runner-up Score Site
2018 USA Canada 9-8 Netanya, Israel
2014 Canada USA 8-5 Denver, Colo., USA
2010 USA Canada 12-10 Manchester, England
2006 Canada USA 15-10 London, Ont., Canada
2002 USA Canada 18-15 Perth, Australia
1998 USA Canada 15-14 (OT) Baltimore, Md., USA
1994 USA Australia 21-7 Manchester, England
1990 USA Canada 19-15 Perth, Australia
1986 USA Canada 18-9 Toronto, Ont., Canada
1982 USA Australia 22-14 Baltimore, Md. USA
1978 Canada USA 17-16(OT) Stockport, England
1974 USA 3-Way Tie 24-14 Melbourne, Australia
1967* USA Australia 25-11 Toronto, Ont., Canada
* The 1967 team was the Mt. Washington Lacrosse Club from Baltimore, Md.


Click on image to open in lightbox.

Men’s U19 World Championship

USA Comes From Behind to Win 2016 U19 Men's Gold

© 2016 FIL – Team USA’s 2016 U-19 squad comes back from a 6-0 first quarter deficit to win an eighth straight championship, downing Canada 13-12 in Coquitlam, BC. Photo: Paul Yates

A record-high 14 teams competed in the FIL U19 Men’s Lacrosse World Championship in Coquitlam, B.C., Canada from July 7th through July 16th, 2016.

The Blue Division teams, comprised of the top five finishers from the 2012 U19 Men’s Worlds, included Canada, the United States, the Iroquois Nationals, Australia and England. Red Division teams were made up of Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Germany and Mexico, and the Green Division included entries from China, Ireland, Scotland and Korea. The 2016 world tournament saw debuts at the U19 level for six of the teams: Israel, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Mexico, China and Ireland.

The USA came back from a 6-0 deficit to defeat Canada 13-12 on Saturday, July 16th in front of a standing-room only crowd.

Ryan Conrad scored with eight seconds remaining coming off a screen and burying the ball, capping off an unbelievable comeback for the Americans who trailed 8-2 at the half, giving the Americans their eighth title on the U-19 world stage.

The USA is the only country to have won the gold medal in FIL’s U19 Men’s event, winning in 1988, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2008, 2012 and 2016.

The next U19 World Championship will take place 9th – 18th July, 2020 in Limerick, Ireland (

Men's World Championship Results
Year Champion Runner-up Score Site
2016 USA Canada 13-12 Coquitlam B.C., Canada
2012 USA Canada 10-8 Turku, Finland
2008 USA Canada 19-12 Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
2003 USA Canada 19-10 Baltimore, Md., USA
1999 USA Canada 14-7 Adelaide, Australia
1996 USA Australia 13-8 Tokyo, Japan
1992 USA Australia 24-11 Long Island, N.Y., USA
1988 USA Canada 12-5 Adelaide, Australia


Click on an image in the below carousel to open in lightbox.
Images courtesy © 2016 Vancouver Sports Pictures / Paul Yates / © FIL and CLA

Men’s Contacts

Men's Lacrosse Contacts - Send a Message

Send a message to any/all World Lacrosse Men's Contacts
  • Select one or more recipients for your form email.
  • Provide your email address so we can reply to your message.
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Men’s Documents


FIL Eligibility Criteria 2018
Residual Debts Policy
Discipline Procedures – July 2017
WL World Events – Financials
Forfeiture Policy
Withdrawal of Teams Policy
Men’s Championship Handbook


2016 U19 Men Injury Form
2016 U19 Men Concussion Report Form


FIL 2019-2020 Men’s Field Lacrosse Rulebook
Bench Officials Handbook
Men’s Field and Indoor Rules Changes
FIL vs NCAA Rules – Table of Differences
Official Rule Interpretations

Men’s Wheelchair Lacrosse Rules

Suggested Wheelchair Rules

Mixed Field Rules

Mixed Field Rules


Men’s Field Lacrosse Referee’s Manual
Men’s Field Lacrosse Minor Officials’ Handbook
Referees’ Fitness Testing Protocol

Preparation for Testing Materials

Sample Referee Certification Exam
Answer Grid for Sample Exam
Sample Exam Answers

Unified Field Dimensions and Markings

Summary of changes

A summary of these changes is as follows, with more detail provided in the attached documents below under “Alternative measurements for existing MENS’s facilities.”


  • Size of field increased from 110 yard X 60 yard to 110 m X 60 m (120.30 yard X 65.62 yard)
  • Goal crease radius increased from 3 yard to 3 m (3.28 yard)
  • Space behind the goal reduced from 15 yard to 12 m (13.12 yard)
  • Substitution area or gate increased from 10 yard to 13 m (14.22 yard)
  • Centre face-off X to wing line and goal line to men’s restraining line remain essentially the same but the measurement has been adjusted to metric.
  • Additional field length is added to the centre of the field between the 2 restraining lines and the additional width is added between the wing lines and the sidelines.

Alternative measurements for existing MEN’S facilities

World Lacrosse has developed a set of measurements for existing MEN’S fields. These are for the following size pitches:

  1. Location of markings for the men’s game only
    VIEW  |  PDF
  1. Location of markings for the men’s game only
    VIEW  |  PDF
  1. Location of markings for the women’s and men’s games
    VIEW  |  PDF
  1. Location of markings for the women’s and men’s games
    VIEW  |  PDF