USA is Golden

//USA is Golden

USA is Golden

(MANCHESTER, UK) Team USA led Canada 8-4 at the half of the 2010 Lacrosse World Championship only to see Canada come back with four unanswered goals to tie the game at 8-8 at the end of the third quarter.

Team USA then went on to outscore Canada 4-2 in the 4th quarter to win their 9th World Championship, 12-10.

Paul Rabil and Michael Leveille each scored 3 goals to lead the U.S. John Grant Jr. led Canada with 3 goals and 1 assist.

FIL 2010 World Championship – Gold Medal Game

Team Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 Total
USA 3 5 0 4 12
Canada 2 2 4 2 10
Goals: USA – Rabil 3, Leveille 3, Crotty 2, Mundorf 2, Powell, Striebel; CAN – Grant 3, Greer 2, Billings, Crowley, Huntley, Steenhuis, Williams.
Assists: USA – Crotty, Mundorf, Powell; CAN – Duch, Grant, Huntley, Small.
Saves: USA – Dougherty 15; CAN – Sanderson 10.
Faceoffs: USA – Smith 11-of-22, Peyser 0-of-1; CAN – Snider 12-of-22.

Game Photos

Game Highlights – Courtesy ILTV

2010 Men’s World Championship Awards

(FIL AWARDS COMMITTEE) During play in the 2010 World Championships held July 10-24 in Manchester, England, the FIL Awards Committee, chaired by John Phillips, were busy at work.

Throughout the 14 days of the World Championships, the FIL Awards Committee observed play from all the tournament teams.

At the Closing Ceremonies following the Gold medal game, the FIL Awards Committee announced various honors including the ALL WORLD TEAM. Award categories and awards are as follows:

    All World Team honors are awarded to the the tournament’s most outstanding players by position.

    All World Team


    Brendan Mundorf-USA
    John Grant-CAN
    Mike Leveille-USA


    Max Seibald-USA
    Paul Rabil-USA
    Leigh Perham-AUS


    Brodie Merrill-CAN
    Kyle Sweeney-USA
    Ryan McClay-USA


    Chris Sanderson-CAN

    Tournament Best Awards are presented to the top four players by position. The Most Valuable Player award is presented to the tournament’s best player.

    Best Players Awards

    Best Attacker

    John Grant-CAN

    Best Midfielder

    Paul Rabil-USA

    Best Defender

    Brodie Merrill-CAN

    Best Goalie

    Chris Sanderson-CAN

    Most Valuable Player

    Paul Rabil-USA

    President’s Team honors are awarded to the most outstanding players in all divisions except the blue (top) division.

    President’s Team

    Graham Bergsma-NED
    Jamie Gallagher-WAL
    Brendan Healy-SCO
    Ian Healy-SCO
    Brian Hubschmann-CZE
    Alex Jones-NED
    Sten Jernudd-SWE
    Dan Leidl-IRE
    Jordan McBride-SCO
    John Ryan-IRE
    Honorable Mention Awards.

    Spirit of Lacrosse Awards

    Bermuda – Midi – Matt Restaino
    Finland – Attackman – John Snellman
    Wales – Defender – Rhodri Evans
    Germany – Defender – David Pearson
    Korea – Defender – SungWa Jo
    Germany – Attackman – Jandro Brown
    Bermuda – Defender – Bob Smith
    Scotland – Defender – Nick Peeke-Vout
    Germany – Goal – Thor Rosenberger
    Scotland – Goal – Tim Higgins

    About the FIL

    The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) is the international governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. The FIL currently sanctions five World Championships (women’s and men’s field, women’s and men’s U19 field and men’s indoor). The FIL is responsible for the governance and integrity of all forms of lacrosse and provides responsive and effective leadership to support the sports’ development throughout the world.

    By | 2017-04-21T14:54:40+00:00 July 24th, 2010|Men|Comments Off on USA is Golden

    About the Author:

    FIL Admin manages the Federation of International Lacrosse website and regularly contributes posts and updates.